Headline image

Unveiling the Tapestry of Ireland: A Journey into the Origins of County Names

Ireland has 32 counties; these counties’ names are often rooted in ancient Gaelic origins. Let’s explore the meaning of each county's name, unraveling the meanings and histories behind these distinctive appellations.


  1. Antrim (Aontroim):

The name Antrim is derived from the Irish "Aontroim," meaning "Lone Ridge." This may refer to the solitary hills or ridges found in the region.


  1. Armagh (Ard Mhacha):

Armagh, or "Ard Mhacha" in Irish, translates to "Macha's Height." Macha, a legendary figure in Irish mythology, was said to be associated with the area.


  1. Carlow (Ceatharlach):

The name Carlow, or "Ceatharlach" in Irish, means "Four Lakes," possibly referencing the four lakes surrounding the town.


  1. Cavan (An Cabhán):

Cavan, known as "An Cabhán" in Irish, is thought to mean "The Hollow," describing the many hollows and valleys in the landscape.


  1. Clare (An Clár):

Clare, or "An Clár" in Irish, means "The Plain," signifying the flat terrain in parts of the county.


  1. Cork (Corcaigh):

Cork, or "Corcaigh" in Irish, is believed to have originated from "Corcach Mór Mumhan," meaning "The Great Marsh of Munster."


  1. Derry (Doire):**

Derry, or "Doire" in Irish, translates to "Oak Grove." This name reflects the dense oak forests that once covered the area.


  1. Donegal (Dún na nGall):

Donegal, or "Dún na nGall" in Irish, means "Fort of the Foreigners," likely referring to Viking invaders.


  1. Down (An Dún):

Down, known as "An Dún" in Irish, translates to "The Fort" or "The Stronghold," highlighting the historic forts in the region.


  1. Dublin (Baile Átha Cliath):

Dublin, or "Baile Átha Cliath" in Irish, means "Town of the Hurdled Ford," recalling a historic crossing point on the River Liffey.


  1. Fermanagh (Fear Manach):

Fermanagh, or "Fear Manach" in Irish, means "Men of Manach," possibly referring to an early tribal or monastic community.


  1. Galway (Gaillimh):

Galway, or "Gaillimh" in Irish, is thought to have originated from "Galliv," meaning "Stony River."


  1. Kerry (Ciarraí):

Kerry, or "Ciarraí" in Irish, is linked to the legendary figure Ciar, with interpretations suggesting "The People of Ciar" or "Dark Strangers."


  1. Kildare (Cill Dara):

Kildare, or "Cill Dara" in Irish, translates to "Church of the Oak," referring to the early Christian church founded in the area.


  1. Kilkenny (Cill Chainnigh):

Kilkenny, or "Cill Chainnigh" in Irish, means "Church of Canice," honoring St. Canice, who founded a monastery in the region.


  1. Laois (Laoise):

Laois, or "Laoise" in Irish, is named after the medieval kingdom of Laigin, believed to be associated with the legendary Queen Lughaidh.


  1. Leitrim (Liatroim):

Leitrim, or "Liatroim" in Irish, means "Gray Ridge," possibly describing the landscape or the color of the local stones.


  1. Limerick (Luimneach):

Limerick, or "Luimneach" in Irish, is thought to have originated from "Luimnigh," meaning "Bare Marshes" or "Bare Land."


  1. Derry (Doire):

Derry, comes from "Doire" in Irish, meaning "Oak Grove." The name has historical and political significance.


  1. Longford (An Longfort):

Longford, or "An Longfort" in Irish, translates to "The Long Ford," referring to a river crossing point.


  1. Louth (Lú):

Louth, or "Lú" in Irish, is believed to be named after the legendary King Lughaidh, with various interpretations suggesting "The Shrine of Lughaidh" or "Lughaidh's Land."


  1. Mayo (Maigh Eo):

Mayo, or "Maigh Eo" in Irish, means "Plain of the Yew Trees," indicating the prevalence of yew trees in the area.


  1. Meath (An Mhí):

Meath, or "An Mhí" in Irish, translates to "The Middle." It was historically the central province of the ancient Kingdom of Mide.


  1. Monaghan (Muineachán):

Monaghan, or "Muineachán" in Irish, means "Little Thicket," likely describing the wooded landscape.


  1. Offaly (Uíbh Fhailí):

Offaly, or "Uíbh Fhailí" in Irish, means "Descendants of Failge," possibly referencing a local tribe or chieftain.


  1. Roscommon (Ros Comáin):

Roscommon, or "Ros Comáin" in Irish, translates to "Coman's Wood" or "Wood of St. Coman," honoring a local saint.


  1. Sligo (Sligeach):

Sligo, or "Sligeach" in Irish, means "Shelly Place," likely referring to the abundance of shellfish in the area.


  1. Tipperary (Tiobraid Árann):

Tipperary, or "Tiobraid Árann" in Irish, means "Well of Ara," possibly referencing a holy well in the region.


  1. Tyrone (Tír Eoghain):

Tyrone, or "Tír Eoghain" in Irish, means "Land of Eoghan," honoring an ancient king or chieftain.


  1. Waterford (Port Láirge):

Waterford, or "Port Láirge" in Irish, means "Lárag's Port," possibly named after a Viking trader or a local chieftain.


  1. Westmeath (Iarmhí):

Westmeath, or "Iarmhí" in Irish, means "Western Middle." It was historically situated in the western part of the ancient Kingdom of Mide.


  1. Wexford (Loch Garman):

Wexford, or "Loch Garman" in Irish, means "Garman's Lake," likely named after a Viking leader or chieftain.


The 32 counties of Ireland names resonate with the spirit of Ireland, connecting contemporary Ireland to its ancient roots and forging a link between the past and the present.

Posted on:

Last Updated on